writing

Will I Be Publishing A Star Has Fallen?

Good question! The long and short of it is yes, in some way, shape, or form. I know for a fact that I want to share A Star Has Fallen with the world. It is definitely not staying on my hard drive, I can tell you that. But whether I get it physically published or simply published on WattPad is a different story.

For me, publishing traditionally or even self publishing is not the same as putting my work out there. And honestly, I don’t think one is better than the other. Would it be freaking amazing to see me physical book on a bookshelf at Barnes and Noble and be able to hand it out to my family some day? Heck yea!! I would love that, and it would be the absolute best day of my life to have that happen.

Do I think it’s necessary for me? No. I don’t necessarily care if I get my book physically published or not. I just want to share it, and I can do that equally well through WattPad. If I got a few comments or a couple of likes, I would be ecstatic. If the story blew up and became immensely popular on WattPad, I would be screaming with joy. If it got physically published, I would explode with happiness. But either way, people will be reading it. It will be out in the world. That’s enough for me.

Because I am honestly terrified of physically publishing my novel. Yes, its a life goal and a dream of mine, but I don’t know if I’m ready yet. I don’t know if I’m ready for figuring out a contract and marketing and  facing the monetary aspect. It’s a heck of a lot to do, and it scares me. I’m willing to settle for online publishing, as long as it gets put out there. Because I’m so scared and so young, maybe WattPad is a good first step anyways! As I keep saying, I’m good with that! Someone will read it. That’s all I need.

Now keep in mind that this is all where I’m at with this particular novel, which just so happens to be the first thing I’m actually proud of writing and that I want to share with the world, which if we are being frank, is the real reason I’m so scared. I’ve never been proud of something I’ve written, not to the extent of sharing it. The prospect that I want to now? TERRIFYING!!!!

Maybe this mindset will change with Nightmares, when I’ve had experience with editing and sharing my novel. Maybe it won’t, and I’ll be content just writing for myself and a handful of followers on WattPad. I really can’t tell. All I can say is that for now, I’m happy with doing as little for A Star Has Fallen as simply sharing with a few betas and putting it on WattPad.

We’ll think about Nightmares once we get there!

Leave a Reply

